What shite would you be driving in 1979?

Eyersey1234

In 1979 I was driving this 1969 Triumph Vitesse 2.0 MK2 Saloon!

I should add the L plates were for my girlfriend and I had been driving for 3 years. Starting with a Hillman Imp Californian, Vitese MK1 2.0 saloon, Cortina MK2 1600 super 2 door, Rover 2000TC and this Vitesse MK2 I bought 3rd Sep 1978.

Vitesse 2LTR MKII TCV 269G Valancia blue v4.jpg

If I had been driving in 1979, the equivalent to my current "shite show" car would have been a Series 1 CX. Daily would probably have been a Mk.1 Golf (no Jetta until 1980).

In reality, the oul man was driving an ex-police Mk.3 Ford Cortina 1600 L Decor.

In 1979 my dad was driving a Renault 6, much as I (occasionally) do today.  I suppose the closest equivalent then to my R6 now (40-something-year-old smoll Renault) would be a Juvaquatre.

The closest equivalent to my 16-year-old Rover 75 Tourer daily would probably be an Austin Cambridge estate.

5 hours ago, LightBulbFun said:

59dcb4ca44863_InvalidecarriageJPH371K127431RAW.jpg.f85aac7c9fcb7a116219216eee7b2ee9.jpg

:mrgreen:

You'd need to fake a disability.  Or in 1979 speak pretend to be a "spacka" 

Our family woukd be driving a Vauxhall cresta, 1100 clubman, spitfire mk1, and a vitess 1600, shevette  

Omega, Bini Cooper, mk1 mx5, Juke Tekna. Mk4 astra. 

45 minutes ago, New POD said:

You'd need to fake a disability.  Or in 1979 speak pretend to be a "spacka" 

surely actually having a disability that means your housebound for the most part otherwise would be good cause to qualify for an Invacar back then?

(well according to the last government assessment I went to they, well the private company they farm these things out to, said I was 100% healthy, but my mandatory reconsideration notice says otherwise, but they have conveniently eaten that and never got back to me, im just waiting to get some more phone credit so I can give them an earful and hopefully get my ESA back!)