Vanette welding

Haverstock

I have a thing for Nissan vanettes, and I like welding

it's a handy combination

so last November my mot guy wouldn't pass it pointing out some stuff he didn't like

come welding season out comes the welder as the old saying goes

definitely the most epic rust so far on the van and that's saying something

knew it was bad but have to drop the tank so been putting it off

then when I was camping last year the leg of metal bed frame I'd made up sunk through the floor when I climbed in . that last mot was more a charitable donation

heres some pics of the progress so far the plan is the end of next year another crack at the mot...

after this picture I fixed my welder up and did some welding practise. this was teaching a youngun' who had never welded before and I started playing with the power settings thinking wow! and decided to crank the power up for the up-coming chassis welds.

I use the butt and cut. you take your patch piece and grind it to fit then butt weld it. this is no harder than making a really good patch if there's bends and corners it's easier just to grind it to fit.

and being a butt weld low power welding penetrates a long way. I can see the weld on the other side, smiling

I have now done those welds and they're turning out like butter. I'm gonna keep the amps cranked up and melting a lot of metal

• 4 weeks later...

I'm still welding, you feckers won't stop me hahaha

phase 1 is all set for finishing by the first frost.     .then (I believe modern grammer allows a sentence to start with a full stop)