THAT Lada Samara - It's now FOAD's

KruJoe

As seen int' eBay thread, a possible save might be on the cards...
KGrHqEOKpE24QI2OEIBNzs4IrOw_12.jpg
$(KGrHqEOKp!E24QI2OEIBNzs+4IrOw~~_12.JPG
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/LADA-SAMARA-HATCH ... 4cf731aef7
lada2.gif
lada1.gif

I've struck up an email exchange with the seller, I have a phone number and BIN of £150, I just need to find a time when I can sneak out to have a butchers.
Seems ok in the photos, but they don't avail to much. Brief listing seems an honest Sid'n'Doris type, including:

WE HAVE HAD IT CHECKED FOR M.O.T. AND HAVE BEEN TOLD NEEDS FLOOR WELDING WHICH WILL COST ABOUT £300.00 INCLUDING M.O.T.

(Their email address is "EdwinandJean@..." :) )
So if £230-ish is the quote for welding, it's probably not major or terminal. Where in particular are these prone to rot?
Will that plastic be hiding some horrors?
I have some welding gear here, I'm no expert, just need to practice.
And what else am I looking for on these?
Thankyouplease.

You may also find that "the floor needs welding" bit is to try and scare them into buying a newer ca. I don't think that these are that prone to the galloping festeringness, it's just everything else on them is so unremmitingly dismal.....................

That's all good. It MUST be a bargain if Torsten says so - he RULEZ at cheap/free acquisitions!

About the grot, I'm probably best just asking them what they know about it, and I'll take my little ramps and have a good poke around.

I have found this AA pdf which may be useful, but it's a few years old.

Anything else in particular to look out for?

I know they can be a bit of a twat to set the carb correctly (after getting it to pass an emissions test).

I have the workshop bulletins for that somewhere....and the tool I think. or is that me....anyways, i'll have a look - if you buy of course.