Peugeot 205 Bosch motronic spi injection bad idle running problems etc etc how to fix or diagnose

Tamworthbay

Having found a complete lack of info on this I thought it would be useful to put down what I have found out about the system, especially as it’s also found on several Rovers which inhabits these pages. I am no expert but had the help of one, hopefully it will all be obvious and taking a bit of time to understand the system really helps. The crap thread name is so it can be found if anyone searches for it.

The motronic system is a single injector system which is a complete evolutionary dead end that wasn’t around long. There are a few components that can give issues, I will try to go through what can happen and how to check each bit.

Throttle body - the carb like bit with a butterfly and where the injector sits, also home for the idle control valve, ICV and the throttle position sensor TPS

Injector - injects fuel obviously, check by taking off the plastic ducting and looking to see if it makes an even and fine mist of fuel that changes in volume as you actuate the throttle.

ICV - can be the cause of erratic idling and often blamed when it’s not at fault. To check watch for it moving in and out when the engine is cold, it can can also be tricked into moving by holding the throttle off its stop. If it’s moving then chances are it’s fine. If not then clean first and replace if it still fails to move.