That hot pink and rusty Mini

Ben_O

+1 for continuing a resto thread.

Looks a good car despite sitting. Please tell me your going to paint it back to red, or any other colour than pink though!?

It's going back to Red with a white roof, bonnet stripes, mirrors and pin stripes/laurels.

Everything will be completely as original and as it left the factory but just with more paint on it and no bare metal...

Wish my garage floor looked like yours.

I have been wishing it looked like that for the past 3 years.

It was all freshly done last week.  :-D

Definitely, definitely, definitely keep us updated on this. I love these things

Please can you make it look like this and then sell it to me for £250?

Ha ha  :-D

I wish as much as you that they were still that cheap.

Ill finish this resto, do a season of shows in it and then see what happens. It will probably end up a keeper but I don't want it to be a trailer queen. Too much fun to be had for that

Any initial thoughts on rustproofing Ben O? Looks like your place knows what it is doing so what do you normally use on these?

Usually, its a case of zinc primer in all seams and weld edges epoxy primer on the body, good quality sealers and a good coating of stonechip underneath, making sure that everywhere is painted properly and then all cavities filled with waxoil.

I haven't had any problems so far but as I am going for a concourse finish on this one, the finish has to be perfect and although stonechip can be attractive if done nicely, It's not very original looking so ill have to get my thinking cap on.

I am considering using no stonechip underneath and instead, paint it body colour so I end up with a shine and finish that is as good as the top side but if I actually want to drive the thing, it's not very practical.

Ill decide later. 

Cheers

Ben

I have a Mini specific roll over jig which ill use for this.

It has seen some action but makes things much easier

HSeE1K3.jpg