Range Rover replacement

Stevebrookman

As mentioned in the grumpy column-my Range Rover has shit the bed. It needs the BeCM computer and engine ECU sent off to be unlocked. Fellow who was going to have a look on the weekend didn't bother.

I've had the car 11 years so one FTP is not too bad. Wife wants me to change-but I don't want to go more modern-I would like the later shape L322 but modern cars have started to get me worried - jammed with computers  and other things! (Ps-my degree is electronics-but you need to be a whizz with microprocessors these days).

So I'm looking at going backwards and have spotted these two machines for example (will have to get present Rangy working first).

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Land-Rover-Range-Rover-Classic-2-5-Classic-auto-Vogue-SE-TDi/272820485190?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

sx8n4s2.jpg

or

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Range-Rover-Vogue-Classic-1994-300tdi/232448251024?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2060353.m1438.l2649

kRuZmrI.jpg

Any thoughts/advice/commiserations greatly appreciated.

Steve

I wouldn't say going older was a bad idea at all. Simplicity is king, fuck all that stupid electronic shit off!

If you pick a good car and look after it there's no reason why it'd not work out.

I must say, the white one looks great! I'm not really a fan of white cars but that does look bloody good.

Range Rovers, to my untrained eye look either fantastic (like the ones pictured) or utterly crap.

I think it is all to do with the stance.

Some sit nice and straight and level where others are all uneven wheel arch gaps and look all baggy and loaping. And not at all attractive.

A good one, maintained, could be a car for life if you can stand the fuel cost.

They look like two soft dash classics? if so they were always the most desirable ones when I was into green oval junk. I'd get both then you've got a spare in case of FTP & tell ya missus it's an investment.

Yep, they're soft dash models.