Claying

Bren

Dont laugh - I bought a clay kit for the vectra's paint.

The car has lots of superficial scratches however the ultra blue is a nice colour, especially when it has been washed.

I have never done this before - any tips/advice? What can I use when the bottle of lubricant wears out?

I've done it a few times- relatively simple if you follow the instructions..

Remember to check the clay regularly and fold it to get fresh bits to use so you don't drag the shite you pull off the paint all over the car.

If the lube runs out, some speed detailer or water/weak shampoo mix should see you right

Do you need special detailing lube or will plain water do? Not heard of using shampoo mix.

I think you can use plain water- the weak shampoo mix (like a small drop of car shampoo in a full bottle of water) was shown to me by a mate. Seemed to work OK she I did it

yeah use lots of the reccomended lube , keep everything super clean you dont want to be rubbing grit into it

before starting knead the clay until its warm , break off a bit about the size of a jaffa cake and use that , as its getting dirty re knead it and fold it over into itsself so you get a clean surface again

you mention scratches- it does nothing for scratches , just makes the surface smooth , so follow up with a good polish and wax 

yeah ok good , they work very well

you can feel and hear it ...will feel rough while its working then turns smooth like glass when its taken the crap off , rub your fingers over the panel to confirm its smooth like glass and move on , i tend to just do a patch as big as a magazine , then move on once its done rahter than randomly attack the whole panel    

What i would suggest before claying is to get a decent tar remover and detar the car first, also some fallout remover, youll see it turn purple meaning its dissolving the iron filing deposits on the car, this will then making claying it quicker and easier.

I love you more and more every day!