Breakdown/recovery service recommendations

timolloyd

I've been avoiding an annual subscription to any of these for a few years now. Most of my cars have been of the set-fire-to-it-and-walk-away variety, should they FTP.

However, a baby is on the way, a tidy but unknown quantity XC90 is on the drive...and of course more chod will be incoming.

So, I'm looking for recommendations for annual breakdown and recovery membership. Needs to cover the driver not the car (as in, whatever the driver is using at the time) and obviously cover any age of vehicle. Last time I did this there were all sorts of silly stipulations about the vehicle being less than 10 years old.

Which is stupid because all moderns etc....

All advice gratefully received.

The RAC have looked after me and mine pretty well for the last 30 odd years. The latest was yesterday, with, as usual , the newest car I own. They were there in 25 minutes , friendly bloke admitted he probably wouldn't be able to do much more than get me recovered. But was happy to talk to the Merc place I use and read them the codes and they pointed him to the collapsed pipe on the intercooler. Got me mobile within in 15 mins.

The guys seem happy to get to work on something older, one of my daughters had a balljoint collapse on an MX5 a couple of years ago at uni and the bloke didn't just recover it , he got another patrol to pick a pair up and changed both sides.

The only issues I've ever had are when the RAC sub out recoveries, 4 hours waiting in Knightsbridge last year ( again with a modern) for a contractor to find a vehicle big enough to take me home. Comes to mind.

Needless to say I get much more than my monies worth for the top family cover each year, it helps that we pay for it with Tesco Points.