Arthurs Transit.

Arthur Foxhake

• 2 weeks later...

Lucky escape! Always check above where you are welding kids!

post-19867-0-85292800-1487707111_thumb.jpg

Yikes! (pic is sideways for some reason?)

Haven't had much time on it recently but some filler, sanding and a bit of primer has occurred.

I'm getting towards needing it done so have to make more time for it.

post-19867-0-16645500-1487707234_thumb.jpg

Yeah, that's the same as I bought. The wing looks like OEM quality, but the rest?

Not as thick as original and the inner wing is nothing like the original.

I've never done anything this involved before and wish I could have bought an original inner wing, would have saved a lot of ballache.

Won't be chopping as much off the other side. It's a bit less rusty so I'll use what I need and leave as much original as possible.

Did I say original enough?

Original.

Great thread. These old Transits are worth putting time, money and Waxoyl into now. With maintenance they're just about unbreakable.

We had two of these back in the 1980's/90's. First was a D reg Transit 100 (2.0 Pinto, short wheelbase low top, one piece rear door). White, three years old and rusty bonnet. Replaced that, resprayed it and eventually rebuilt the engine as a regular 100 bhp unit with 10:1 compression, 32/36 Weber etc. D612EHY iirc.

Number two was bought from Blackbushe auctions in 1991. Its was a 1990 G reg Transit 80, 1600 Pinto, factory black and super clean. Absolutely stole it as all the traders wanted a diesel, think it was £2500 plus VAT. Gearbox (MT75) was fucked on 3rd gear but bought a Ford exchange unit. I fired a gallon of Waxoyl into it, mixed with paraffin. Inside the bonnet, front and back doors, the whole underside, into the front arches from under the bonnet. I saw it in a breakers about 10 years ago. Battered to buggery but completely unrusty. The 1600 went well too, surprisingly.

When you hear of modern shite such as a Renault Tragic that's shat itself..........