Doing my tiny wee bit for shite....

Split_Pin

I bought a V-reg 2 litre Vec in December, not really shite I know, although it is in a kind of giffer-esque colour, velvet green or something. Anyway its only got 68k so its pretty honest I guess.

Anyway, I'm a complete amateur at mechanics, but decided that if I am to be a true shiter in future, I have to learn home mechanics. I had only done oil changes up till now.

Any how the throttle body required cleaning and the Idle Control Valve needed replacing as the car was wanting to stall at lights. I had a 'how to' from the owners club, but I was really bricking it as it looked pretty complicated.

However I have now completed my first successful mechanical repair and the car runs better than ever now. And I did it all by myself lol :D

Evidence:

Posted Image

Anyway, I know it isnt much, but I'm more confident about owning real shite in the future now lol.

Where/what did everyone else practice their shite - preservation skills on?

On my first car - a 1983 Vauxhall Chevette! I learned how to change oil & filter and coolant, rear brake shoes, plugs and leads, radiator removal, leeping the carb oiled etc.I didn't get onto gearboxes, clutches and engine removal until I bought my first Skoda Estelle :evil::lol:

Good job. Sometimes written instructions make a job sound more complicated than it is, and getting stuck into oily components brings a bright ray of clarity 8) My theory with mechanics was to have a go, and that if I fucked up I could always go to a mechanic with my tail between my legs. And I did, a few times :lol: