E36 BMW. Any opinions.

Futuramic

Futuramic has landed a proper and responsible job. It had to happen, but for how long is unknown.However, from a shite perspective I needs me a new motah. Diesel is the obvious choice as I have been plonked into the middle of commuter hell on the Essex mother road, or the A12 as it is better known. Therefore economy matters.So does the performance, comfort and pimptasticness of the aforementioned car proposal. It also has to cost less than £1000 and be a bit shite.Therefore I have been looking in the Trader and have discovered seemingly a machine to fit all these criteria. She is a 1995 BMW 325 TD SE with 140,000 on the clock and a bit of tax and test. Manual, naturally.I have no experience of diesels, or indeed BMWs, so I have been wondering if anybody has any information they wish to share.I can put up with the snide comments and not being let out of junctions.

In a word, overated.I've seen some seriously rusty ones, i've seen ones where the rear axle mounts have pulled out of the floor, I've seen some modified ones that I'd be embaressed to scrap.I never thought they were all that great to drive either. Maybe I was expecting too much.I'm currently very impressed with my shite tastic 405 TD, plus I dont look a prick because I drive it.For other reasons of course....

Good cars, though not wonderfully economical for a diesel. If it starts promptly from cold, and runs smoothly straight away, it's probably fine. If not, a world of pain and expence is involved! They do have a vague tendancy for cracked heads if they've been "chipped", if it's not been buggered about with, it's probably fine. Usual checks for overheating etc.To sum up, great engines, with the above caveats, the rest of the car is pretty trouble free, although, if it's got them [tourers had two] check the sunroof work.As above post suggests, check for tinworm, although I've had three, and they've been fine. Your budget should get you a pretty reasonable one