Jump to content


Welcome to Autoshite

Welcome to Autoshite, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be apart of Autoshite by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get automatic updates
  • Get your own profile and make new friends
  • Customize your experience here
Guest Message by DevFuse
 

Photo

Zafira cam timing, what have I done wrong?


  • Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 05:37 PM

05 plate Zafira, selling for a friend who has emigrated (but my wife has taken a fancy to it).

 

Changed cambelt and bits, won't run right - doesn't idle smoothly, no power at all, and revs shoot up occasionally.

 

I believe that I have set the timing correctly - mark on crank, 3 o'clock and 9 o'clock on cams.  Can't see being a tooth out would do that and I am sure it isn't a tooth out.

 

No MIL.  Tried moving the cam sensor out as that has been disturbed but that didn't make any difference (apart from setting off the MIL).

 

So, what dumb arse thing have I done please?



#2 OFFLINE   red5

red5

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,793 posts
  • 4 thanks
  • LocationSunny Bewdley
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 05:42 PM

Engine? I'm guesssing you checked marks after fitting new belt before cranking it over?


1995 2.8 Fronterror LWB

1992 RF600

 

Living the dream.

 

 

 


#3 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 05:47 PM

Yes - crank on the mark and cams on quarter to and quarter past.  Put the marks so they are close together on the cams, I have checked it on the manual and the internet.  It is a 1.8, no idea the code, but before they want all fancy with VVT and stuff.



#4 OFFLINE   bub2006

bub2006

    Rank: Lancia Gamma

  • Full Members
  • 7,848 posts
  • 12 thanks
  • Locationderbyshire

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:07 PM

Z18xe or z18xer if its vvt. 2005 was the changeover i think when the zafira and the vectra was facelifted they got the vvt engine. Its timed up correct by the sounds of it so i would hazard a guess on a sensor throwing a hissy fit

#5 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:09 PM

The only sensor I have disturbed is the cam sensor, and I tried disconnecting that and it didn't make any difference (though the MIL came on).

 

Perhaps I should read fault codes or disconnect the battery for a bit?



#6 OFFLINE   twosmoke300

twosmoke300

    Rank: Isuzu Florian

  • Full Members
  • 8,426 posts
  • 39 thanks
  • LocationCornwall

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:12 PM

What about the maf sensor on the air filter ?

Skoda Octavia 1.9tdi - the boring modern 

Fiat Ducato 2009 l3h2

Honda Crf250X

Suzuki TS50x

Kawasaki Ke175d

Prilla Pigsasshole 650

Saxo 1.5D

Land Rover 90 2.5 petrol

Vectra B 2.2 CDX estate 

 

 

 


#7 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:16 PM

I have not touched the air flow meter (or whatever it is) in the pipe just down from the air filter.  I did replace the airfilter element and the old one was black.  Is there anything else?  No wires to the air box.

 

Still, an idea, could have a look and see if there is any chance I have disturbed it.



#8 OFFLINE   red5

red5

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,793 posts
  • 4 thanks
  • LocationSunny Bewdley
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:31 PM

Sounds like timing is out to me. cam sensor would run ok up to 3000rpm then stop.

 

Check the belt timing again - you used the mark on the crank pulley that points to '25 past' ?


1995 2.8 Fronterror LWB

1992 RF600

 

Living the dream.

 

 

 


#9 OFFLINE   Lankytim

Lankytim

    Rank: Lancia Gamma

  • Full Members
  • 6,767 posts
  • 3 thanks
  • LocationSorry, this part is no longer available.
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:36 PM

I recon its a couple of teeth out somewhere.

2004 Fiat Multipla JTD, running on Biodiesel

Fecked LDV Pilots.

2005 Volvo S40


#10 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 06:38 PM

I checked the timing loads of times, and wound it round loads of times. I did wonder if I'd got it miles out simply by using the wrong marks or something but I have looked in loads of places and always get the same answer, including the 25 past.  Been suggested elsewhere that it could be an airleak with the pipe fitted to a solenoid on the back of the airbox.  I think that is a good call, real airleak symptoms.



#11 OFFLINE   philsford

philsford

    Rank Morris Ital

  • Full Members
  • 95 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 30 August 2014 - 07:11 PM

Did you put your own marks on before you removed the old one or are you using factory marks? I did my old 03 plate 1.8 one by marking it up myself no problem at all apart from having to helicoil a bolt on one of the pulleys.

Sounds like the timings out to me.



#12 OFFLINE   DaveAspley

DaveAspley

    Rank: Austin Maxi

  • Full Members
  • 406 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:32 PM

If it's a z18xe1, the cams WILL move unless locked with the appropriate tool. Springs off mark like a mofo. The tool was an essential thing to buy as a Vauxhall Technician (99-07) , are you midlands? I still have the cam lock tools and it takes me 25 mins tops to change (or in this case time up) a zafira belt. Also, check there isn't any vacuum hoses adrift.

#13 OFFLINE   DaveAspley

DaveAspley

    Rank: Austin Maxi

  • Full Members
  • 406 posts
  • 0 thanks

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:37 PM

Or if not, a cam lock tool is a tenner....

#14 OFFLINE   lisbon_road

lisbon_road

    Rank: Citroen Ami

  • Full Members
  • 1,233 posts
  • 6 thanks
  • LocationSouthampton
  • Country : Country Flag

Posted 30 August 2014 - 08:38 PM

FIXED.  Was the pipe from behind the airbox to the throttle body, come adrift at the throttle end.  Looks like it would come off really easily. 

 

Always good, you fix it, and suddenly it works.  Then you forget all about it and move on to the next issue.

 

Thanks for the ideas. 






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users